Veg and Dippity

Always volunteer to bring the veg to the party.  That way you know they’ll be a tray full of low calorie, high fiber, filling, and delicious foods to fill you up.  Pile your plate high with the veg and take smaller portions of the richer foods.  This philosophy will get you and your waistline through the endless holiday buffets, desserts, and special treats.

1

So to abide by my rule, I am bringing the veg and dip to the family Christmas gathering tomorrow. Today, when I got home from work I had fully intended to take the easy way out and make a little dip packet.  One of those just add mayo and sour cream deals.

2

I was really looking forward to a dill dip that I bought at Christkindlmarkt.  Turns out, I didn’t actually buy the dill dip!  I ended up buying curry spices, tomato and onion, and pumpkin dip.  Oops.

3

I was not giving up on my beloved dill though.  Next stop, spice shelves.  Obviously I grabbed dill, plus parsley, nutmeg and sea salt.  My overgrown chive plant also caught my eye.

4

Turns out, dip packets are totally unnecessary.  A little of this and a little of that and I had a fresh and delicious dip.  Plus, my chive plant is happier and ready to sprout some new growth.  Win-win!

5

Herb Dippity

  • 1 cup mayo
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1 teaspoon dried dill
  • 2 tablespoons fresh chives, chopped
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 grinds sea salt

Mix it up and dip away.

sig

30 Minutes Activity:  Walking, even though it was the last thing I wanted to do on a Friday after dinner and drinks.  But I did it.  Winking smile

Leave a comment