Corn Corn Corn

While this was going on last weekend…

triple

I was making corn casserole.

6

Thank goodness it was cooked before we lost the power, because it was a thanksgiving trial.  I don’t have time to make it again and it must be on the thanksgiving table.  I love the sweet, warm, bready-ness of corn casserole, but I knew there wouldn’t be room in the oven for it.  Deep down inside I knew it would work in a crockpot, but I needed to trial it to prove it to myself.  It’s my first thanksgiving cooking!  I can’t mess up!

1

I assembled the ingredients mid-morning so it would be ready by dinner time.

2

Of course I used a recipe from All Recipes as a suggestion.  Most corn casseroles are about the same though.  The only thing difference about mine is that instead of a can of corn, I used about a cup and a half of fresh corn (frozen from the summer).

3

Just mix up the shades of yellow, grease your crockpot and cook on low for 6-8 hours.  If you like it gooey go for 6 and if you like it browning go for 8.

4

I started taking bites of mine as I walked through the kitchen at 6 hours, but overall it stayed in the crock pot for closer to 8.  Delicious either way.

Crock Pot Corn

  • 1 can creamed corn
  • 1 box Jiffy corn bread mix
  • 1 1/2 cups corn (frozen or fresh)
  • 1/2 stick of butter, melted
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 8 ounces sour cream

Cook for 6-8 hours on low or until the desired consistency.

7

How do you avoid oven overload when cooking for the holidays?

11

Tags:

One Trackback to “Corn Corn Corn”

Leave a Reply

