Tricks and Treats

In honor of trick or treat night in our neighborhood I tricked my oatmeal into being an extra special treat.  Isn’t it festive?

1

Thank goodness it looks pretty in these pictures, because in the making it looked a little like…um…there’s not better way to say it…vom.  I thought yellow would be pretty, but it’s really just odd when it’s oatmeal.  The orange (made with pumpkin) was a little bit more normal for me, but still kind of weird.  Then when I was plopping them together I was really regretting going for the festive choice.

Thank goodness it still tasted delish, in addition to making pretty pictures!  I just didn’t really look at it after it was all mixed together!

3

The tricks in this treat:

  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 cup water
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup steel cut oats
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • yellow food coloring
  • Nutella
  • chia seeds

Makes two treats. Ghost

Is the look of food important to you?  Or is taste all that matters?

4

2 Comments to “Tricks and Treats”

  1. I can’t trust myself with Nutella within 300 feet of myself. I can barely look at on on a screen!

Leave a Reply

