Seasons of Food

4

You can tell it’s getting dark earlier these days!  Instead of being outside in the garden, I’m in the kitchen.  It’s the seasons of food; different involvement for every time of year.  Despite missing having my hands in the dirt, I’m loving the meals I’ve been able to put on the table recently!  I guess I’ll be living up to my tag line!

1

Tonight’s menu included Apple Mac!  On the side a romaine salad dressed in honey, olive oil, and garlic salt.  And a glass of apple cider!  It was restaurant quality!  I rarely say this about my own cooking, because I always think there is room for improvement.  I also tend to never make the same dish twice because I’m always tweaking to improve.  Not this meal.  I will repeat it exactly.  And I’ll enjoy it just as much!

2

Apple Mac

  • 1 head cauliflower, cored and in pieces
  • 2 cups broth
  • 1 Tablespoon parsley
  • 1 box (13 oz) whole wheat pasta
  • 3/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar
  • 3/4 cup shredded parmesan, divided
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 large apples, cored and cubed
  • 1/4 cup Italian bread crumbs
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil and boil cauliflower until very tender
  3. In a smaller pot simmer the broth and parsley
  4. Remove cauliflower from the water with a slotted spoon; put 3/4 in a food processor and reserve the other 1/4 in a  bowl
  5. Add pasta to the water and boil until just starting to soften, but not fully cooked
  6. While you’re waiting on the pasta, process the cauliflower with the warm broth, sharp cheddar, half the amount of parmesan, nutmeg, salt and pepper
  7. Drain the pasta and return to the large pot
  8. Add cauliflower cheese sauce, apples, and whole cauliflower pieces and stir well
  9. Put in a greased 9 x 13 baking dish
  10. Sprinkle with remaining parmesan cheese and bread crumbs
  11. Bake for 18 minutes or until top is golden brown

3

Now the trick is not going back to the pan for seconds, thirds, and fourths!

Do you cook more or less depending on the season?

6

2 Comments to “Seasons of Food”

  1. Apple Mac?? This sounds so good!

Leave a Reply

