Pumpkin Hoarding

It’s going to be scarce again this year thanks to all the rain.  I thought I was stocking up early, but it turns out I’m late.  I was in the grocery store and the cute little gourds reminded me.  Buy pumpkin!  I started down the baking aisle.  I was about a fourth of the way down the aisle when I saw it.  A completely empty shelf.  Oh no, I thought.  I bet that’s the pumpkin shelf.  I walk a bit further and see some cans that look like they might be pumpkin and I feel some relief.  I walk even closer and I see, sweet potato next to empty shelf.  No pumpkin.  Crying face

I don’t know why I was surprised.  What I thought was early planning was evidently not.  Confirmation that there are crazier people than me!  Whew!

2

I continue on my way to do the rest of my shopping.  A couple aisles down my phone rings.  It’s Steve.  I answer and he says, I’m stopping at Walmart on the way home, do you need anything?  No thanks I say, I’m already at the grocery store.  We hang up.

5

I walk to the next aisle and see Halloween candy.  For a minute it reminds me of my lack of pumpkin.  Then lickety-split I’m on the phone again.  Steve!  Look for pumpkin!  If they have it, buy at least five cans!  He laughs.  I have hope again.

1

I’m at home unloading groceries and Steve pulls into the drive way.  Did they have it, I shout!?!

6

YES!  My life this fall is complete.  Five new cans of pumpkin plus one left from last year all lined up on the pantry shelf.  That should last me through my pumpkin oats, cottage cheese, pies, and bread.  I hope.

3

Today was the first use.  About one eighth a can into my oats.  The rest is stashed safely in the refrigerator.  Delightful.

Inaugural Pumpkin Oats:

  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup steel cut oats (for chew!)
  • large sprinkle cinnamon
  • small pinch nutmeg
  • even smaller pinch cloves
  • capful vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese (stirred in at the end)
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin (stirred in at the end)
  • dollop of Nutella (mmmmmmmm!)

Makes two whopping portions. 

Served with a half of a Mutsu apple, my absolute fav!  Find an orchard that picks these. Red heart

Do you love any food enough to hoard it?

4

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Hoarding”

  1. Those are some pretty delicious sounding oats. I’m going to get my five cans of pumpkin today 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

