Sunken Muffin

It feels like I haven’t posted in forever!  Not true actually.  It just feels that way for some reason.  I’d like to say I’m refreshed from my mini vacation this past weekend, but I would be lying. And I don’t like to lie.  It’s not nice.

It’s common for bloggers to give off the absurdly happy vibe all the time.  Generally I think we do because we’re genuinely happy to be writing about food for you (or we wouldn’t do it).  This is certainly true for me.  As it says all over my blog, I really do enjoy food, eating, sharing food, and blah blah blah.  Winking smile

Tonight I’m not feeling the sunshine and roses.  I feel a little overwhelmed by what’s on my plate, my life plate that is, not my dinner plate.  I don’t know if I could be overwhelmed by a dinner plate. Smile with tongue out

Anyway, life is busy.  Really it’s always busy for everyone.  Sometimes we just cope better than other times.  So I contemplated not posting, but like I said, it feels like I’ve been away for a while.  Plus, my spirits are usually lifted by the time I reach the end of a post.  And actually I can feel it already.  It’s like the endorphins you get from exercise.

So if you thought things were always happy happy in the sass world, I have now officially confirmed that is not true.

BUT, I would still like to share my nightly happiness with you:  DINNER!

3

Chili from the freezer.  Hooray for the convenience of freezing!  Topped with cheddar and a sunken corn muffin.  Just perfect for the cool damp evening we are having.

1

Even if you did want to make this chili the same night of eating, it’s a snap.

  • 1 pound ground beef, browned and drained
  • 1 large pepper, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cups frozen corn
  • 1 can chili beans
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1 can tomato paste
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 bottle of beer
  • sprinkle of chipotle seasoning, to taste
  1. Sauté pepper and onion.
  2. Combine all ingredients in pot on the stove or in a crock pot.
  3. Heat through and simmer.

I cleaned out the garden of tomatoes tonight, diced them, and threw them in to simmer during the reheating.  They gave it a nice fresh taste the second time around! You know I’ll never waste!

2

Now it’s time to go hack away at that to do list.  Crossing things off my list always makes me feel better!

What helps you to cope with a busy life?

4 Comments to “Sunken Muffin”

  1. So honored that we had a spot on your busy life plate during vacation. Thank you for spending time with us, and for the super sweet baby gifts. We love you guys and look forward to your next trip through town! 🙂

    • We so enjoyed catching up! It’s nice to have friends that it’s so easy to talk to no matter how long you’ve been apart. Thanks for showing us your beautiful home! We look forward to seeing it filled with the new baby! 🙂

  2. So the orange chunks are….cheddar cheese? At first I thought, “is that carrots? sweet potatoes? Gee, my chili never looks like that.” Cheese chunks are a nice, visual change from the standard shredded version, especially if they’ll melt. Yum.

    • Everything starts in the form of a cheese stick in our house. We buy it for easy snacking and lunches and it seems to morph into what we need for every other meal. Omelets, sandwiches, cubes….

Leave a Reply

