Resilience

Refusing to give up.  Coming through adversity unharmed or even stronger.

3

A trait often learned from the examples of others.

A cancer survivor.

A veteran.

An a college graduate finally finding a  job.

2

But recently I have learned this from my garden.

4

This was todays harvest.

1

It was grown despite early drought, then flooding, and now stink bugs.

Recently I had resigned myself to the fact that the garden was done.  It had a good run, but it had just faced too many troubles.

Wrong.

Tomato branches are brown, shriveled and drooping, but the tomatoes are ripening and taste just as good as they did in August!

Pepper plants are covered in stink bugs, but the peppers are intact and still edible!

Globe carrots that I gave up on in early summer because of their stunted growth are now plump and ready to eat!

And the string beans, well they are energizer bunnies.  Each time I harvest every last bean and I think they are done, new blooms show up.  A few days later, another harvest has arrived!

So learn I learned from my plants that

with text

Have you learned lessons in unusual places?

2 Comments to “Resilience”

  1. This is awesome. Rock on, little pepper plants.

Leave a Reply

