Worth the Bake

Brrrrr!  Warm food was a must tonight.

1

Oatmeal bake was on the menu and hot tea seemed like a nice accompaniment.  I enjoyed it next to our open sliding glass door so that I could breathe in the fall air.  There is something about cool air that is so cleansing.  Maybe its more the fact that it’s not humid?  Whatever it is, I love it!

3

I’ve heard a lot about oatmeal bakes, but I’ve never made one myself.  I always figured, why add another step?  It’s extra time and more dishes.  But I am back on my menu planning kick (yay!) and was looking through cookbooks on Sunday.  The bake caught my eye, again.  Onto the menu it went.  Oh and side note about this weeks menu, it’s awesome.  I should have shared more of it with you, but I was so busy eating it, there just wasn’t time.  Hence the lame-o post last night.  There’s been veggie lasagna, a chili lime roast, and vegetable soup.  Of course the planning has created many leftovers and happier bellies at lunch.  So glad the PB&J summer days are over.   As the menu planning months continue I promise these listed meals will be repeated, in case you were concerned.  I’m sure you all were!

4

I’m done with my tangent now.  Moving on to the important part, the recipe.  I got inspiration for this oatmeal bake from the Breast Cancer edition of Better Home’s and Garden Cook Book.  As usual, I did not follow the recipe.  That would be too easy.

Cranberry Walnut Baked Oats

  • 3 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup cottage cheese
  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 4 or so grinds of sea salt
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar

Boil milk and butter; add all ingredients except 1 tablespoon brown sugar.  Stir for a minute until thickened (but not fully cooked).  Pour into greased casserole dish, in my case and ungreased stone casserole dish.  I enjoy these a lot!  Bake for 15 minutes.  Sprinkle with remaining brown sugar.  Bake for 5 more minutes. 

2

I served it with Trader Joe’s honey Greek yogurt (first time I had it…to. die. for.) and apple chunks.  My mouth is actually watering thinking about it.  It hit the spot!  I liked that it was chewier than regular oatmeal.  And the vanilla made me feel warm and fuzzy inside.  When you’re a frequent oatmeal eater, this is an excellent way to mix it up.

Are you transitioning to fall habits like more structured menu planning or warm meals and drinks?

2 Comments to “Worth the Bake”

  1. I haven’t done an oatmeal bake before. What is my problem??

Leave a Reply

