Snack Attack Under Control

Portion control that is.  Thanks to my mini jars!

It all started just because I think small things are cute.  I’m a total sucker for little knick knacks, which have now been tucked in every corner of my house.  So it only makes sense that I’m now in love with little things in the kitchen.

2 jars

It just so happens that little things in the kitchen can also be good for your waistline.

1 jar

In my mini jar:

  • 4 walnut halves
  • 5 dark chocolate peanut M&M’s
  • 10 honey roasted peanuts
  • 15 Craisins
  • 15 unsweetened raisins
  • 20 salted sunflower seeds

And that’s pretty much all that fits, so I’m forced to stop.  All the fun and benefits of prepackaged snacks without the outrageous cost!  And don’t worry, it’s not much work at all!

bags

If you have self control you can make these in sandwich bags too.  Although, it’s really easy to dump just a little bit more of everything into the bag when you have the space.  A little bit of this and a little bit of that add up over time, especially when it comes to chocolate, nuts, and dried fruits!

bag pile

Plus it’s always better to reduce, reuse, recycle.  This weekend I’m making a trip to the store to purchase more canning supplies (salsa is coming soon!).  Four ounce mini jars will definitely be on my list.  That is unless I have to purchase more paper crafting flowers to make more bridal shower invitations…

What’s in your favorite trail mix?

Leave a Reply

