It’s That Time Again

I can’t believe it’s August 9th!  Where does the time go?!

We wouldn’t want to let the month fly by without a food of the month.  I’ve been waiting since the blog started to spotlight this food.

So without further ado…

CHARD!

DSC_0062

It’s unbelievably nutritious, stunningly beautiful, and superbly tasty.  Basically it can do no wrong.

I’ve already made a host of dishes with this lovely leaf so I’ll use this time to compile them for your enjoyment.

Tonight’s use was so simple; toss it into an omelet.  And then of course make the omelet a sandwich.  If you know me outside of the blog word, you saw this coming.

DSC_0006

Usually I’m a spinach girl when it comes to veggie omelets, but times have changed.  Spinach is long gone with the cooler weather.  However, chard is here to stay.

DSC_0009

I was first introduced to chard when I joined a CSA last summer.  I was skeptical because I never thought of myself as a leafy green eater, unless it was in the form of salad.  So I sautéed it with onions and raisins or drizzled it with balsamic and that was the extent of my chard use.  I gave quite a bit of it away because I just didn’t think I wanted to eat the quantity I was being given, all summer long!

DSC_0058

This summer I dutifully purchased my heirloom rainbow chard.  I planted a few crazy looking seeds and figured I would cook my same old chard recipes a few times over the summer and that would be that.  WRONG.

My chard came in quickly.  I cut it and it came back.  It started growing faster.  It got taller and leafier and more beautiful.  Obviously I had to eat it more often.  And so the summer of chard was born.

So let me learn this lesson for all of us.  Never count a veggie out.  You might be missing your new favorite!

*Stay tuned for nutrition facts and even more recipes coming your way!

Have you ever assumed you didn’t like a food and then later learned you were sooo wrong?

Tags:

2 Comments to “It’s That Time Again”

  1. I used to think spinach was gross and now I know just how fantastic it can be when prepared properly.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

