What’s Important to YOU?

Did you know I trap cats?  That’s trapping cats to spay or neuter them and help control the population of stray cats.  It’s a sad day when a litter of kittens is born and they don’t have homes.  It’s even sadder when those kittens end up in a shelter and the homeless cats that came before them have to die.

DSC_0001

I’ve always felt strongly about this issue, but now that it’s in my back yard (literally) the passion has grown stronger.  I’m on the front lines doing what I can to prevent cats senselessly dying.  I won’t lie.  It’s hard.  My heart breaks when a cat cries because they are scared when they end up in my trap.  I shed a tear every time I see a new kitten born that won’t have a home.  I cringe a little when I think of the long road ahead.

DSC_0009

Then I look at a face like this.  How could you not love it?!  And I remember that every time a scared cat cries while I drive it to the vet, it’s because I’m doing the right thing.  And every time I see a kitten born, I can do my best to find it a good home.  And when I’m thinking that it’s going to take too long or it’s going to be too hard, I remember that these cats deserve all the time I devote to them.

photo(1)

So I keep on setting up my trap.  Steve keeps rolling out of bed in the morning to see if we caught one.  I keep dropping them off at the vet before work.  I keep worrying about them while they’re in surgery.  I keep giving them a good home while they heal.  I keep feeling elated when they get to run back outside into the fresh air.  And my heart keeps growing bigger to make room for the next one that comes into our lives.

DSC_0007

And I realize I must have had this issue plopped in my lap for a reason…because I would do something about it.

Now I’m sure you want to know the story of this pretty little girl!  She was sitting outside the trap that her mommy was inside.  Her and mommy were pretty stressed being apart and it was heartbreaking to hear them talk to each other.  Mommy went to the vet to be spayed and baby got a bath and a tick removed and spent some time in a nice little cat bed in our bathtub!  In the first day she spent with us she realized that if she cried this sucker would come and scoop her up and carry her around.  She became a little lover instantly.  It was hard to let her go, but she didn’t get along with the kitties we already had and she had a good home to go to.

Want to help?  There are lots opportunities to do something…no act is too small. In my area the Central Pennsylvania Animal Alliance is happy to provide support, guidance, and volunteer opportunities.  Look for a similar organization near you.  It’s the right thing to do.

What cause is important to you these days?!

3 Responses to “What’s Important to YOU?”

  1. You guys are amazing for doing this. Lots and lots of extra points and love for you!

  2. That is really cool!!!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

