Moist Minis

I’m going to be honest with you.  I have no pictures of these little beauties.  And by these, I mean Squash and Pineapple Mini Muffins.  Perfection in a muffin tin.  I made them.  I took them to a family picnic.  I ate the leftovers.  That is all there is to it.  You’re just going to have to trust me when I say…you should make these soon.  Tis the season, you know!  If you don’t believe me, you can find one quick glimpse of the muffins and one way I ate them, here.

As you probably already know I have been looking for new recipes to use my abundant food of the month.  I have lots of zucchini, but I have even more beautiful heirloom yellow squash.  In my brain I consider them very interchangeable.  So I googled for inspiration and then got to concocting.  Heaven forbid I actually follow a recipe!  That wouldn’t be any fun!

So onward to the recipe that includes my tweaks.

Sun Squash and Pineapple Mini Muffins Sun

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • grind of sea salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup crushed pineapple, drained
  • 2 cups yellow squash (about 1 large), grated
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • ~2 cups walnut halves (or as many as you want)
  1. Mix together all dry ingredients.
  2. Beat eggs and sugar until well combined.  Mix in oil and vanilla.
  3. Combine wet and dry mixtures and mix until well.
  4. Stir in pineapple and squash.
  5. Spoon 1 tablespoon into greased mini muffin tins. 
  6. Drop 1 walnut half in each muffin.
  7. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown and toothpick comes out clean.
  8. Cool completely, pop out, enjoy!

*Makes ~75 mini muffins

*Maybe more…I was too busy eating them to count them!

Aren’t mini things better than full sized?!

3 Responses to “Moist Minis”

  1. I love the word moist! Haha

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

