Summer Cravings

It’s hot hot hot here in central Pennsylvania.  Like, I’m going to jump in a pool with my clothes on, hot.  Since I don’t have regular access to a pool, I have to settle for craving summer foods.  Nothing says summer more than this spread…

DSC_0067

Can you believe this was intended for just two people?!  We have lots of leftovers!

DSC_0057

Of course we had to have zucchini and yellow squash.  Gotta use ‘em up!  They were grilled as usual with olive oil and lemon pepper.  The corn got the same treatment.

And then there were the hot dogs.  I have eaten only a handful of hotdogs in my life.  They just aren’t my thing.  But I was craving super salty and a hot dog sounded just right.  Odd, I know.  I just really wanted one.  And alongside all the fruits and veggies, it really was no crime.  Everything in moderation I say!

DSC_0052

Despite craving salt, I also felt I needed major hydration.  Watermelon is just so satisfying in the summer heat!

DSC_0055

While Steve was outside being the grill master, a couple of little apricots were staring me in the face.  They were screaming, eat me!  I had to oblige!  Apricots are one of my favorite fruits and the season for fresh is just too short.  Chard is also very abundant in the garden right NOW.  Obviously they had to be combined to make this beauty.

DSC_0058

Some of the best recipes come from forced pairing of foods.  For this perfect duo:

  • sauté chopped chard stems and onion until tender
  • add apricot chunks and heat through
  • add chard leaves at the end just to wilt
  • drizzle honey, toss, and serve

It’s beautiful and tasty!

DSC_0051

Do you have food cravings?

One Trackback to “Summer Cravings”

Leave a Reply

