Chef Kim’s Salad

A hearty yet light meal was on the menu!  I just can’t get enough of my garden spinach, so these days I’m mixin’ and matchin’ the toppings to keep it interesting!

DSC_0001

Tonight it was Yeehaw sirloin quickly seared with some chicken rub on it.  I know it’s not chicken, but I wanted a flavorful spice rub and that’s what was on hand.  Now I can tell you…it works just as well as anything made for steak.  While the steak rested I went to snip snip from the garden.  I always get distracted while I’m out there.  So of course I was weeding and poking at my plants.  This was very helpful in that it forced me to let the steak rest!  I’m often impatient and even though I know I’m going to lose my juices if I cut, I do it anyway.  When I’m hungry, I’m hungry!  Just ask my family!

DSC_0003

Also on the top, green pepper, hard boiled egg, carrots, roasted beets (I’m addicted to these lately!), and pickles!  Do you like pickles on your salad?  At first I thought it was weird, but now I love it.  I’m all about layers of flavors and textures.  Pickles layer a tartness that’s a nice surprise when you hit one in the mix.  And they give enough flavor that I don’t even need dressing!

DSC_0008

Do you think I’m crazy yet?  Sometimes my crazy comes out a little more than others.  I think it came out a lot in this post.  Chicken rub with pickles, egg, and steak…didn’t realize how odd it was until I wrote this!  The beets probably make it weird too.  But I digress!  Go try it!  Report back if I’m just crazy or crazy genius!

Leave a Reply

