Herbs and Peanuts

I don’t like to waste, but I haven’t been using my garlic chives.  If I didn’t find a use for them soon they would wilt and fall to the sides while new growth pushed through.  I’d rather cut and use them!

DSC_0018

Unfortunately my cooking has been severely lacking recently.  It’s the last thing I want to do in this heat we’ve been having!

DSC_0017

Taste of Home to the rescue!

DSC_0022

Select the chives.

DSC_0024

Snip them up into tiny pieces.

DSC_0025

Assemble ingredients…chives, unsalted butter, and salt.

DSC_0029

Mix salt and chives.

DSC_0030

Muddle to get the juices flowing.

DSC_0032

Melt butter.

DSC_0033

Mix it all up!

DSC_0034

Refrigerate and viola, herb butter!

DSC_0046

In an ideal world I would have let the butter come to room temperature and whipped it with the herbs.  It would have been light and fluffy and lovely.  But in case you didn’t know I don’t live in an ideal world.  Do you?  I’m impatient, so I melted the butter entirely and mixed it right in.  Worked just fine for me.  I used it on toast tonight and it was great when all the flavor melted into my toast.  Perfection!

Are you growing herbs this summer?  What are your favorites?

Tags:

2 Responses to “Herbs and Peanuts”

  1. This gets me thinking about the herb butter that we can make with our garden. Basil butter? Sage butter? Rosemarry butter?

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

