So Proud

This Sunday entailed a completely new meal!  No part is something I’ve made before.  And even better…everything was fab!  I’ll start with my favorite part, the roasted butternut squash.

DSC_0002

This half a squash sat in the refrigerator for over two weeks!  I basically forgot about it when it got shoved to the back.  Yesterday I needed a very easy side dish.  Squash to the rescue!  I cubed it, tossed it in olive oil, spread it on a foil lined baking sheet, salted it, and baked it at 400 degrees for 25 minutes.  When it came out I put a drizzle of maple syrup over it and sprinkled it generously with cinnamon.  The salt was key!  You can’t go wrong with a salty sweet combo.  While I ate it, all I could say was, “I can’t believe this is healthy!  It’s like dessert!”

Next up, a food that is entirely new to my household, wheat berries.  I have seen these on countless blogs, most notably Caitlin’s and Beth’s.  It was time to try them.  I would describe them as a cross between oats and rice.  I loved them for their chew.  I put them in water in the morning and let them soak for an entire day.  I drained and rinsed them.  They were brought to a rolling boil initially and then turned back to a simmer for one hour.  Despite the time they take to cook, it’s easy and well worth it.  I did yard work while mine simmered.  And then tossed the rest of the salad together just before it was time to eat.

DSC_0007

Kim’s first wheat berry salad:

  • 3 cups cooked wheat berries
  • 1 cup chopped raw spinach
  • 1/4 cup dried blueberries
  • 1/4 cup walnuts
  • generous drizzle of balsamic vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste

And now I declare WHEAT BERRIES the food of the month.  They are too good to fall to the background.  They need to be in the spotlight!  Stay tuned for more recipes and uses, as well as to learn about the benefits these little guys can bring to your diet.

And now on to my greatest success, the Yeehaw chicken.  It was whole bird.  And while I’ve made a whole chicken in the past, it’s never been a whole free range chicken.  Do you remember the disaster I had on my hands last time I tried to make free range chicken legs?  I almost threw up on them.  Granted a stomach bug was brewing because I was actually sick later that week, BUT despite that, it was awful.  Most disastrous meal of my life.  I know I’m being dramatic, but I seriously have nightmares about that meal.  Thank goodness Steve is understanding!

DSC_0012

This bird was a different story.  I did my research and even re-read my old post to identify what I did wrong last time and what I needed to do right this time.

I cooked it for a long time.  Eight hours in a crock pot with a rub of butter, rosemary, nutmeg, and garlic.  I basted it three or four times throughout the cooking process.

I also went into tasting with a more educated and open mind.  I expected it to be chewier and to taste different, for a lack of a better word.  I tried to appreciate it for it’s own unique taste.  Like I said before, it’s extra chicken-y.

All of the above seemed to work and I enjoyed this lovely little bird.  I still think there is room for improvement in the cooking process and in my taste bud’s palate.  But hey, it’s a work in progress.

Do you ever make a completely new meal?  Or do you stick to at least one thing that you know?  What’s your biggest food experiment success?  Or failure?

3 Responses to “So Proud”

  1. Ah! This looks so good! I love all things squash!!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

