May 2011 Goals

Goals are good.  They give you something to work towards.  They give you motivation.  They force you to address exactly what you want to work on and then do it.

As a registered dietitian I ALWAYS set goals with my clients.  What I always say is, “How do you know what to do when you leave my office and go home if you don’t have a goal?

So why am I not reaping the benefits of goal setting for myself?  I really don’t know!

However, Faith got me thinking I should be!

So I’m going to.  Simple as that.  Hello May goals!

First I must review.  I’ve been taught many ways of making sure you set good goals over the years.  But my favorite is making sure your goals RUMBA!

It’s got to be…

  • Relevant
  • Understandable
  • Measurable
  • Behavioral
  • Achievable

So here goes nothing:

1.  I will drink 8 cups of water every day.

I forget to drink at work.  Sometimes its the end of the day and I realize all I drank was my morning cup of coffee.  Uh oh!  Sometimes I even get headaches, which I can’t fully prove are from lack of fluids, but it’s certainly not helping the situation.  And as much as I hate running to the bathroom frequently; it’s good for my body.  I feel and look better when I’m well hydrated.  I think to make this goal work I’m going to write myself a note at my desk to remind me to fill up that water bottle!

2.  I will do yoga 3 times each week.

As of May 1 my gym membership is frozen!  It’s just not practical to go to the gym when there are the outdoors.  I would much rather be kayaking, gardening, and taking walks anyway.  The gym is awesome for the winter and it shall be unfrozen then.  Haha…thawing in winter.  Sorry, lame.  For now, I will get my exercise through my activities of daily living.  However, yoga makes me feel SO GOOD.  I can’t let this fall by the wayside with the gym.  I have the videos, my mat, a big living room floor and no excuses.  To make this goal happen I’m going to schedule workouts early in the week for days I know I will have adequate time.  And if I can work on getting my butt out of bed earlier I know yoga would happen.  This is something I have NEVER been able to do though, so I don’t have high hopes.  But I’ll plan for the afternoons to make sure I’m successful!

Wish me luck! 

Do you set goals for yourself?  Are they weekly, monthly or yearly goals?  Do you find them helpful?

One Trackback to “May 2011 Goals”

Leave a Reply

