Perfecting the Stir Fry

I really wanted to improve the last stir fry I made.  I knew it was verging on perfect and just wanted it to get there already.  I’d say we got it just about right tonight.  I doubt I would ever call something I make, perfect, but it was darn good and definitely improved from before.

DSC_0027

Tonight’s combo:

  • bok choy
  • broccoli
  • water chestnuts (awesome addition)
  • bamboo
  • tempeh (instead of steak)
  • buckwheat soba noodles (first time for these…loved them!)

DSC_0026

In the sauce:

  • 5 heaping plops of pepper jelly (compliments of Kristi this time, yum!)
  • 5 large splashes soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon hoisin

Hope you enjoy those very specific measurements.

DSC_0035

Overall improvements:

  1. Less veggie prep by using canned bamboo shoots and water chestnuts.
  2. Simplified the veggie selection overall giving the meal a more true Asian stir fry taste.
  3. Adding the broccoli last!  Lightly steamed and I would consider this perfect.
  4. More pepper jelly for kick with sweetness.
  5. Soba noodles!  A unique flavor and nice texture.  I love trying out new grain products.

Such a good feeling to make improvements to an old favorite.

DSC_0031

And in case you are wondering why my water has a purple tint to it, it’s Mio.  I had a coupon so I tried berry pomegranate and it was surprisingly good.  It really is fun that you can make it exactly the way you want it.  I like just a little splash for flavor and the color is festive too.  And I’m not going to lie, watching the color swirl around in my glass was pretty fun too.  Usually I try to curb spending on items like this because they aren’t really necessary and can add up fast.  However, with a coupon and the ability to only use little bits, making it last longer, makes it less painful.  Be right back

Sleeping half-moonI’m off to read Eclipse!  I started it over a year ago and then somehow put it down and never finished it.  So sad because it’s excellent.  And it’s getting good…

Do you constantly tweak your meals and recipes each time you make them?  Or do you change it up every time?

2 Comments to “Perfecting the Stir Fry”

  1. I love soba noodles! I have never cooked with Tempeh, but I am planning too soon. Any tips? I have also never used pepper jelly. For some reason it creeps me out.

  2. I love the Lightlife Three Grain Tempeh. I just lightly brown mine in a skillet so it gets a little toasty, but you could eat it raw too. I much prefer it to tofu because it has it’s own flavor.

    Pepper jelly also creeps me out. My husband loves it and puts it on toast, but I can only handle it mixed with other things. It is good in recipes though because it brings sweet and spicy to a recipe with only one ingredient. Plus I have quiet a few friends that can it when the have an abundance of peppers from their garden.

Leave a Reply

