Chia Fresca Experimenta

Experimenta?  I just thought it had a nice ring to it-a?  Don’t ya?

OK, I’ll stop now and spare you the pain and get on with the post.

The makings of CHIA FRESCA, previously mentioned here.

DSC_0030

  • 1 Tablespoon chia seeds
  • 9 Tablespoons water
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • ~1 Tablespoon honey

DSC_0048

Mix chia seeds and water and shake it up.

DSC_0050

Allow to sit a few minutes and shake again.

DSC_0053

Wait about 8 more minutes and get this!  Chia gel!

DSC_0056

It kind of freaked me out.  It’s like something you would see on fall on a kids head on Nickelodeon.

DSC_0058

Add lemon juice and honey.  I added more water too to make it more drinkable.

DSC_0029

Drink up!  And get ready for some tantalizing texture for your tongue.  I would describe it as nutty bubble tea.  Interesting, but not something I would be in a hurry to make again.  Steve tried it too and enjoyed it more than I did.  He apparently doesn’t mind odd textures like I do.

Give it a try if you’re looking for an adventure.  Let me know what you think!

How do you feel about texture on your tongue?  Do you love it or not so much?  Or does it depend on the food?

Tags:

4 Comments to “Chia Fresca Experimenta”

  1. Ooo ooo. I am definitely going to try this. I put chia in a lot of stuff, but this sounds great. I love honey and lemon so I think I can deal with the texture. Lovely photos.

  2. Hi Abby! Thanks for your comment. Hope you like it! Let me know when you try it! 🙂

  3. Love your food of the month idea-especially the info on chia seeds. I’ll try this recipe & let you know how it goes.

    Found your website through katheats. Keep up the good work! 😉

    Agree, good pictures..

Leave a Reply

