April Food of the Month: Chia Seeds

Welcome to the newest endeavor at Spoonful of Sass.  It’s food of the month.  Yes, I realize it’s a bit late for April as it is almost half way over.  However, I’m too excited about this to delay the concept until May.

Throughout the month I’ll be posting information on a single food.  This could include nutrition facts, use, storage, recipes, experiments, and more.  As always I hope that you will share your thoughts, opinions, and ideas regarding the food of the month.

Without further ado, please give a warm welcome to our first celebrity, CHIA SEEDS!

DSC_0039

You likely see them and hear about them if you read food blogs.  That’s how I heard about them.  I went out to buy a bag of them to see exactly what all the hype is about.  I picked up the package, turned it over to the nutrition facts panel, and I was sold.  In the cart it went.

But I get ahead of myself.  Let’s start with the basics.

DSC_0041

What are Chia Seeds?

  • YES, it is the seed from which a Chia Pet grows. Ch-ch-ch-chia!
  • It comes from a desert plant in the same family as mint.
  • Most chia is grown in Mexico.
  • It’s an ancient food that was a main component of the Aztec and Mayan diets.
  • Aztec warriors are thought to have survived on as little as 1 teaspoon of chia seeds for an entire day.
  • It was also eaten by Native Americans in the southwest.
  • It is making a comeback as a SUPERFOOD!

Stay tuned for the health benefits of this superfood, uses, and a chia seed experiment (brewing in the refrigerator right now).

DSC_0061

Special thanks to Brent for asking about this food and inspiring me to turn my personal research into my blog research.   Hope you enjoy!

Have you heard of chia seeds?  Do you eat them?

Tags:

Leave a Reply

