Big Dinner

I always try to set one night aside to NOT leave the house.  It might seem crazy but it’s easier said than done.  Between the gym, grocery store, and other errands I’m always running.

focus

Don’t get me wrong; I enjoy being busy.  It’s the way I work.  But it’s also important to sit down to a nice relaxing dinner.  This week, that was tonight.

DSC_0005

I had plenty of time to try a new recipe.  After browsing my Fresh Choices cook book I was inspired by the pork chops with pineapple black bean salsa.  You can’t go wrong with pineapples!  Can you see them under there?

DSC_0010

The 4 Yeehaw pork chops were coated in Montreal steak spice and whole wheat flour.  They were browned in olive oil for a few minutes on each side then removed from the pan to concoct the salsa.

In the salsa, with high heat:

  • remaining oil, flour, and seasoning
  • 8 ounces pineapple tidbits with juice
  • 1/2 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 small pepper, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cider vinegar

Put the chops back into the pan and simmer until the salsa gets thick and the chops are cooked.

DSC_0012

I served it alongside baked sweet potato with homemade applesauce and broccoli with Yeehaw butter.  Perfection.

DSC_0014

And from start to finish it only took about 30 minutes.  That means I had plenty of time for yoga, a bubble bath, catching up on blog reading, and Shrek Forever After.

Goodnight!  Black Sheep

Leave a Reply

