Fancy Schmancy

These are the muffins I whip out when I need something that looks fancy.  However, fancy doesn’t always equal difficult as I learned from these little guys.  The inspiration comes from Paula Deen’s Lemon Blossoms, but I prefer to call mine, Fancy Lemon Muffins.  It has a nice ring to it.

lemon 3

The original recipe can be found here, but to me recipes are just suggestions.  I rarely have all the ingredients needed when I bake or cook on a whim.  I just make sure I have most ingredients and then go with it.  As you might expect, sometimes it works out better than other times.  So here is my Fancy Lemon Muffin suggestion.  I’d say it was equivalent, if not better than the original.

lemon 2

Fancy Lemon Muffins

Muffins

  • 1 box yellow cake mix
  • 1 box instant vanilla pudding
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice

Glaze

  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 Tablespoon water
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Spray mini muffin tins with cooking spray.
  3. Combine all muffin ingredients and mix well.
  4. Spoon into muffin tin and bake for 12 minutes.
  5. While muffins are baking, mix all glaze ingredients together.
  6. Dunk warm muffins into glaze to cover completely.  Cool on a rack with wax paper underneath to catch drips.

*Warning!  These muffins are exceptionally delicious and mini.  Consuming large quantities without realizing it is highly possible and even likely.  Take it from someone with personal experience.  (I’m eating one right now and I already had 2 this morning.)

lemon 1

Does anyone else have a go-to fancy food that’s super easy too?

Tags:

4 Comments to “Fancy Schmancy”

  1. Mmm these things are sooo good!! I don’t think any of my foods are fancy. 😦

    • The artichoke chicken thing you made for me (which I now make for myself) was pretty fancy. And easy! Oh and the corn dish…that we made together and I taught you what an emulsion was. So many good times.

  2. I make a mean chicken piccata and sun dried tomato pasta (ask my wife). They are easy and taste really fancy. Like a fancy feast, but for humans instead of cats.

Leave a Reply

