Happy Fasnacht Day!

Since I live in PA (Dutch Country), we celebrate Fasnacht day…not Mardi Gras.  Tradition is that you make fasnachts (donuts) to use your sugar and lard before Lent begins.  A tradition centered around donuts?!  This is not something I would miss.  So yesterday I took a half day off of work to get frying with my friend Kristi.  It was a long and tiring day, but such fun!  And in the end I smelled like a donut.  Seriously, how great is that?  Don’t lie…I know you’re jealous!

So what’s in a fasnacht you ask?  Don’t worry!  I shall share with you!

MASHED POTATOES!

Thank goodness Kristi made these a day ahead.  A good time saving tip!

DSC_0002

MILK, SHORTENING, SUGAR, SALT, EGGS, AND YEAST!

DSC_0006

DSC_0007

SLOWLY ADD FLOUR AND MIX! MIX! MIX!

(An excellent arm workout!)

DSC_0009

Then comes the hard part, WAITING FOR THE DOUGH TO RISE!

We cranked the heat up, used a space heater, and turned the oven on to help move the process along.

We were also secretly hoping to sweat off the pounds before we ate our weight in fasnachts!  Ha!

DSC_0014

AFTER THE DOUGH DOUBLES IN SIZE…ROLL AND CUT.

Be sure to check out my awesome apron…”That’s Why I Like Spam.”

Really?!  No!  I don’t like spam.  I don’t even know why it says that.  But it sure did come in handy!  See how dirty it is!

DSC_0034

GIVE THOSE BABIES A WARM PLACE TO DOUBLE IN SIZE AGAIN!

More waiting.  More growing.  More time to take a lunch break.  How could you not be having fun yet!?

DSC_0001

ALL PUFFY AND BEAUTIFUL; LET THE FRYING BEGIN.

DSC_0029

And don’t forget to enjoy the fruits of your labor.  Here’s Kristi basking in the beauty and power of yeast!  Yes we are nerds like that.  And we continue to be amazed by the chemistry of food.  OK I’ll stop saying “we” because I think this part might just be me.

DSC_0018

And speaking of the power of yeast.  This is what you will look like when you are just realizing that you completely forgot to add yeast to an entire batch.

DSC_0035

The realization went something like this:

Kim:  (while kneading dough)  This dough feels kind of funny.  It seems dry.

Kristi:  Did you add the mash potatoes?

Kim:  I don’t know.  I thought you did.

Kristi:  Maybe I did.  I can’t remember.  Wait!  Let’s look at the pictures we took of that batch.

Kim:  I can’t tell.  It’s just a white pile in a bowl. (see first few pictures)

Kristi:  It looks like too many white chunks to be just a half cup of shortening.  We must have added them!

Kim:  So what’s left, the sugar, eggs, milk, salt?  We got all those!  Oh wait!  The YEAST!  Did you at that?

Kristi:  No, did you?

Kim:  I can’t remember!

Kristi:  I’ll count the yeast packets too see how many we used!

DSC_0012

Not enough missing for the number of batches we made.  Bummer.  We have a dud!  Valuable lesson learned.  Read your recipe card!  Especially if it’s your first time making something.  We totally tried to figure out a way to go back.   But alas, we obviously could not.

DSC_0013

So we photographed the dud to be a reminder of the good laugh it gave us…and kept right on trucking!

DSC_0015

FRYING IN VEGETABLE OIL.  350 DEGREES.

DSC_0021

As they day moved right along we started to get maybe a little Grumpy?  And Kristi had been Sneezy all day from the flour and a slight cold.  And well we are always a little bit Dopey!  So we thought we would name the donuts too…

named donuts 2

perfect donut text

Then we realized that 261 donuts might be too many to name.

DSC_0033

So we just focused on the task at hand.  Getting them all fried without staying up all night!

DSC_0030

And I have to admit, I didn’t stay until the end.  I left Kristi to her work around 7 PM, my 7 hour mark.  I loaded up my share of the donuts (just 1 dozen for me and the hubs) and headed home!  Today at work I found out that Kristi worked until 11 PM to finish frying and then glaze and ice these pretty little things.  That’s dedication!

DSC_0032
Meanwhile put my PJ’s on and powdered my one donut (or maybe 3) and kicked back to watch Pawn Stars and American Pickers!

DSC_0041

Mmmmm Mmmmm…What a treat!

DSC_0043

end of the day

 

Any PA readers out there that got a fasnacht today?  Or is anyone celebrating Mardi Gras?  Or just celebrating that it’s not Monday?

2 Comments to “Happy Fasnacht Day!”

  1. wtf, for real? fasnacht’s have potatoes in them? i had never heard of fasnachts before i moved to Amish Country, and no where I’ve lived since does anyone have any clue what they are.

    They are tasty though!

  2. Glad I could teach you something! 🙂

Leave a Reply

