I Like It!

That’s what came out of our mouths (me and the hubby) when we finally made our first green smoothie. 

We jumped on the green smoothie bandwagon yesterday evening. 

I was skeptical.  He was crinkling his nose at the thought.  But we figured, what could it hurt to give it a try?!

smoothie ingredients

Into the blender went:

1 banana

1/4 cup plain non-fat Chobani yogurt

1/4 cup French vanilla non-fat Stonyfield yogurt

1 cup skim milk

2 large handfuls spinach

Juice of 1/2 lemon

3 center stalks celery with leaves

1/2 cup fresh pineapple chunks (added later because it needed a little bit more pizzazz)

*Made two large glasses

DSC_0011 photoshop

I was worried about tasting the spinach.  And that was weird to me.  Vegetable juices have always grossed me out.  The thought of V-8 juice makes me cringe.  But I think combining fruit with mild vegetables was a good way to ease into it.  I couldn’t taste the spinach at all.  I could taste the celery, but it just tasted clean and smooth, not bitter as I expected.  I made sure to use the tender celery heart for the best flavor.  The tartness of the lemon and pineapple pulled it all together.  It tasted fresh and bright.  While I drank it I just felt healthier. 

DSC_0012 photoshop

Presentation was key too!  Drinking it out of my chalk board wine glass (Thanks Tara!) made it feel like a special event!  Yummy!

green smoothie boost with fram

Does anyone else make green smoothies?  What do you put in yours?

Leave a Reply

