It’s That Time of Year…

Note When the world falls in love!  Note

Note Every song you hear makes you say… Note

Note Happy Planting!  May your seed produce good fruit! Note

Everyone join in!  Or if your name is lame-o-husband, say, “I don’t get it.”  And proceed to youtube the first line of the song.

ANYWAY…I am in possession of my seeds to embark on my first seriously big garden.  Growing up I always helped my mom with her garden.  In college I planted tomato and pepper plants in my Pittsburgh townhouse backyard.  See them down there in the corner, surrounded by concrete?  They produced lots of tasty treats!

DSCN3590

After college I planted tomatoes, peppers, sunflowers, and a few herbs in our Mechanicsburg apartment.  They were stunted a bit when they were transplanted a little late as we bought and moved into our first home.  But despite their early set-back, they did spectacularly and fed us well for the summer!

2010 seeds

This year the planting list is long.  I’ve been reading up on each vegetable and herb I’ll be planting.  Being the freakishly organized person that I am, I even have a planting schedule.  I’m being ambitious and doing multiple plantings of some and I don’t want to miss my window of opportunity!  Here’s Mia helping me sort through the seeds I bought.

seeds and mia

  • Pepper Mix
  • Jalapeno
  • Banana Peppers
  • Onion
  • Bok Choy
  • Celery
  • Green Beans
  • Sugar Snap Peas
  • Cucumber
  • Lettuce
  • Spinach
  • Lettuce Mix
  • Asparagus
  • Zucchini
  • Sunflower
  • Dill
  • Basil
  • Chives
  • Mint
  • Rosemary
  • Lavender
  • Garlic

heirloom

I even got a few heirloom seeds from Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds.  Last summer when I participated in a veggie CSA I fell in love with the unique heirloom veggies, especially the tomatoes and chard.  So I got those and threw in some squash for grilling fun.  And lucky me I got a free gift too…

  • Beefsteak Tomatoes
  • Black Cherry Tomatoes
  • Five Color Silver Beet Chard
  • Golden Squash
  • Globe Carrots (FREE)
    • I love it when a company is so thrilled with my business that they give me a free gift.  I’ll be ordering from them again for sure!

 free carrots

Is anyone else planting a garden this year?  What are you planting?  Do you start your plants from seeds or seedlings?

6 Responses to “It’s That Time of Year…”

  1. 1. My new title should be lame-o friend, since I didn’t get the song at first either. Heh.
    2. Love love the hammock in the garden picture!! You guys put such a small space to such good use 🙂
    3. Excellent variety of seeds. Hi Mia!
    4. My parents threw rotten tomatoes near our pool several years ago. Ever since, tomato forest has grown around our pool every year. It’s amazing!

    • 1. Glad the numbering has caught on.
      2. I can only call my husband lame. Not my friends.
      3. I like the idea of a tomoato forest. I threw some peppers in the back of our yard last year. I wonder if I will get a pepper forest?!

  2. My mom would probably trade me for you. She would love it if I were as into gardening as that. 🙂

  3. Haha seriously – yes. I can give you her email if you want.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

